Domain cloning – such a thing?

chimbwe's picture

I registered a domain with GoDaddy over the weekend. I received all the usual registration confirmation emails and I have it cash parked. When I decided to look on the WHOIS site for the first time I noticed that there was a link that stated this very domain was actually for sale on another hosting site www.afternic.com. I checked spelling e.t.c and they match. No doubt WHOIS clearly has me registered as the owner. I emailed & explained to GoDaddy. I also provided them with the URL to the page that has this domain for sale (much more than I paid for it 3 days ago).

Their prompt response was – “The domain is currently active in your account. The URL that you provided is not valid. A third party would not be able to sell your domain without your permission.”

I was about to pay for logo development on this domain, but I am now a little apprehensive and confused!

Can anyone explain how this happens?

Thanks
Alvin

Are you name servers set

KirkMcd's picture

Are you name servers set properly?

Thanks guys

chimbwe's picture

Thanks for your replies guys. Name servers look good.

I did receive another reply from Godaddy and I do feel more comfortable with the situation now. Also after Vincent.tobiaz comment - Thanks. This is what the daddy said.

"It is possible that the party that previously owned the domain name may have listed the domain for sale through http://www.afternic.com. As advised previously, the domain is active and listed in your account."

It may take some time for their server to update.

Thanks guys.
Alvin

eh...DNS settings would have

Vincent.Tobiaz's picture

eh...DNS settings would have nothing to do with this i think. I think all it is is afternic was trying to sell you a domain that hasn't updated in their system yet as taken.

question for Alvin:
What whois site did you use?
What is the domain?

Very possible that afternic owned the whois site you used also..

Sounds like, as Godaddy

JerseyGirl's picture

Sounds like, as Godaddy said, a previous owner of that domain had it listed for sale at Afternic and didn't remove the listing when it dropped.

Some of the exchanges, including Afternic, have agreements with some sites like Register.com, enom, Godaddy (and a few non-registrar sites). where related listings of aftermarket names for sale will appear alongside their "whois" results.

Go to afternic's site and do a search for the domain. If it comes up , contact Afternic, tell them that you're the current owner and that you'd like the name removed from their exchange. They can verify your whois info and remove it.

If you have trouble reaching them, feel free to PM me - I have contacts there.

Syndicate content